Authentically You

So how brave are you in breaking the status quo. There is a story behind this vivid blue lipstick and it is as follows . Can you imagine how boring this world would be, if it was all painted in Magnolia.

How straight jacketed we would all appear, if we all looked the same, dressed the same, spoke the same and acted  the same and  our personalities and characters were all the same.

Thank God that variety is truly the spice of life,  we should embrace and engage with our individual uniqueness, we should try and love who we are , why we are and what we are .

It’s sad that we sometimes believe  the lies that we tell ourselves, such as we are not good enough, smart enough, etc . The truth is if you don’t know who you are, you will have a hard time convincing others.

I remember the lies I previously told myself as a young woman. They began with ‘I was unattractive, manly with muscular legs. Where I got that from I do not know, but the power of the mind is frightening, can you imagine it was only in 2016 that I began to wear skinny jeans. After a girls trip to Tenerife and on a shopping trip, I tried on a pair to great encouragement “they suit you “, “you look good “ “your legs are really nice” etc.

It was only after this boost to my confidence that I braved buying my first pair. Now I’m in them all the time. Same applies to my foray in a jumpsuit, silly isn’t it I told myself that they would never suit me. I had to have a conversation with myself and on a trip to Miami  I decided to purchase a jumpsuit and I have been jumping into them ever since. The catalyst was that I had just hit a milestone birthday and I realised that I now had to experiment more, loosen up, catch a wave and let the real me stand up and be counted.

So how do I get to the blue lipstick, well the issue is that for a long time we have  all worn the same old reds, wines, burgundy’s, pinks etc, ( myself included ) I also still remain a great  fan of Mac’s Ruby Woo. ( it’s a great colour )

However I have been experimenting more and more with unusual colours such as the  Turquoise blue in the image and I have to confess there is a great feeling inside when you dare to be different. Today I have decided not to conform in my choice of lipstick. In fact I realise that my authentic self loves to be unique and stand out in a crowd. I admire people bold enough to wear their hair bright pink, green, blue etc.  So today I am looking forward to the stares, furtive glances, sneak peeks as I rock my blue lips.

It’s time for you also to be the authentic you,  in whatever sphere you decide to be unique in. Go for it and dare to be authentically you.

Let’s connect soon. Love always.

Lola 

Think it See it Live it . 

Leave a comment